Bookmark and Share

Become a Member

Your AMS membership supports our vital mission and includes valuable opportunities and benefits.

View more benefits of membership in AMS »

Related Information

AMS Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the policy-making body of the American Montessori Society. It is empowered to formulate policies and to amend the constitution and bylaws as needed to fulfill its fiduciary responsibilities and to ensure a vigorous future.

Board directors represent various constituencies of the Montessori community and contribute a diversity of experience and expertise that enrich the body’s deliberations and decisions. Every director sits on at least 1 AMS committee or commission. Some directors are elected individually. Others are selected by the AMS Board to form a group, or "slate." AMS members vote to approve or not approve the slate in its entirety.

Executive Committee Directors

Mary Ellen KordasMaryEllen Kordas

President of the Board
Montessori Consultant, San Marcos, CA
Council Member
Montessori Public Policy Initiative



Julie BragdonJulie Bragdon

Vice President of the Board
Assistant Head of School
Montessori School of Denver, Denver, CO



KambrichSusan Kambrich

Treasurer of the Board
Interim Chair of the Heads of Schools Section

Head of School
Woodland Hill Montessori School, Rensselaer, NY



Munir ShivjiMunir Shivji

Secretary of the Board
Director of Toddler and Primary Programs
Cambridge Montessori School, Cambridge, MA



BreimanRobyn Breiman

Montessori Elementary Teacher Training Collaborative, Lexington, MA



Dr. Timothy PurnellTimothy J. Purnell

Ex Officio
Executive Director
American Montessori Society, New York, NY



Board Member Directors

BayerSuzanne Bayer

Chair of the Teachers Section
Middle School Teacher
Valley Montessori School, Livermore, CA



BowmanGary Bowman

Executive Director/Superintendent
California Montessori Project, Carmichael, CA




Marie ContiMarie Conti

Head of School
The Wetherill School, Gladwyne, PA




Sharon DamoreSharon Damore

Executive Director
Association of Illinois Montessori Schools (AIMS)




Hilary Green

Chair of the Teacher Educators Section
Institute for Advanced Montessori Studies; Silver Spring, MD



Michelle Suzanne Hammons

Eagle Peak Montessori School, Walnut Creek, CA




Anita Hanks

Head of School
Starwood Montessori School, Frisco, TX




E. McCrae Harrison

School Accreditation Commission Representative
Assistant to the Principal for Montessori
Montessori Academy at Christina, Wilmington, DE


Dale D. Mogaji

Northglade Montessori Magnet School, Kalamazoo, MI




Dorothy PaulDorothy Paul

Program Director
Duhovka Montessori Teacher Education Program, Prague, Czech Republic 
Montessori Methodologist
Duhovka Preschools, Prague, Czech Republic


SaylorLaura Saylor

Assistant Professor, Inclusive Early Childhood Education
Dean of the School of Education
College of Mount St. Joseph, Cincinnati, OH



Sandra Marie Stevenson

Family Representative
International Picture Editor
The New York Times, New York, NY

Back to Top